• The Envelope Please …. The 2023 Superintendent of the Year Is …….


    As President of NJASA, I have the privilege of representing the Association at numerous meetings and functions. Each opportunity presents different topics, issues and venues. High on my list of priorities is to deliver the good news aspect of the task at hand.


    My message today is one of good news. I would like to announce the 2023 New Jersey Superintendent of the Year -              

    Dr. William T Smith


    Dr. William T. Smith, Chief Education Officer, Point Pleasant Beach School District

    He is also a candidate for the 2023 American Association of School Administrators' (AASA) National Superintendent of the Year Award now in its 36th year. This program pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead our nation’s public schools.


    Prior to his selection as the 2023 New Jersey Superintendent of the Year, Dr. Smith was the Region III NJASA Superintendent of the Year recipient. A committee of NJASA Past Presidents and former Regional Superintendents of the Year chaired by Immediate Past President Dr. Janet Fike selected three regional NJASA 2023 Superintendents of the Year and the 2023 New Jersey Superintendent of the Year.


    On behalf of the Association, I want to thank Janet and the committee for their time and efforts in making this program a reality for New Jersey superintendents.


    The other NJASA 2023 Regional honorees included the Region I recipient – Dr. Laurie W. Newell, Chief Education Officer, Essex Regional Educational Services Commission (ERESC); and Region II recipient – Dr. MaryJane Garibay, Chief Education Officer, Colts Neck Township Schools.


    I am proud and honored to share that Will Smith has exceeded all the selection qualifications for the State and National Superintendent of the Year that include meeting the needs of their students, demonstrated communication strength, a commitment to professional development and growth, and significant community involvement. Additionally, at the state and regional levels, NJASA has an additional qualification that addresses service with the county affiliate and NJASA.


    NJASA introduced the three Regional Superintendents of the Year at the Annual Fall Workshop in Atlantic City. At that time the educational community also recognized the New Jersey’s Board Member of the Year Adam Parkinson, President of the West New York Board of Education; the 2022 New Jersey School Business Administrator of the Year Stacy Garvey, School Business Administrator, Midland Park; and the 2022-2023 New Jersey State Teacher of the Year Christine Girtain, a Science Teacher and the Director of Authentic Science Research at Toms River High School North and South. Congratulations to everyone.


    The National Superintendent of the Year® Program, sponsored by First Student, Corebridge Financial and AASA, will announce the National Superintendent of the Year at AASA’s Conference on Education in February 2023.


    As always, it is a privilege to represent the membership of NJASA.


    Tony Trongone

    2022-2023 NJASA President