• general 3

     NJASA Selects Three Regional 2017 Superintendents of the Year
    Trenton, NJ, October 26, 2016... The New Jersey Association of School Administrators (NJASA) has selected three regional 2017 Superintendents of the Year. Pictured from left are: Northern Regional winner – Dr. Adam Fried, Chief Education Officer, Harrington Park School District; Southern Regional Winner - Dr. H. Major Poteat, Chief Education Officer, Winslow Township School District and Central Regional winner - Dr. Ross Kasun, Chief Education Officer, Freehold Township School District

    The three regional Superintendents of the Year were introduced at the NJASA Executive Committee’s October 26th meeting at the Annual Fall Workshop in Atlantic City. Later that day, Workshop acknowledged the 2017 Regional Superintendents of the Year at its 1pm general session. The workshop is co-sponsored by NJASA, the New Jersey Association of School Business Officials (NJASBO) and the New Jersey School Boards Association (NJSBA).

    NJASA Executive Director Dr. Richard G. Bozza said, "All three regional superintendents are excellent role models for all aspiring chief education officers to emulate. They are results-oriented educators who continually strive to improve the quality of education for all students they serve." 

    The next step in the process for the three regional winners will be the selection of a New Jersey candidate to participate in the AASA National Superintendent of the Year Award. A committee of NJASA Past Presidents will select the 2017 New Jersey Superintendent of the Year. The program, established in 1988 and sponsored by Aramark, VALIC, and AASA, is open to any superintendent, chancellor or top leader of a school system in the United States who plans to continue in the profession.

    The selection qualifications for the State and National Superintendent of the Year include: meeting the needs of their students, demonstrated communication strength, a commitment to professional development and growth, and significant community involvement.  Additionally, at the state and regional levels, NJASA has an additional qualification that addresses service with the county affiliate and NJASA.

    AASA will announce the National Superintendent of the Year at its Annual Conference on Education in March 2017. The recipient of this prestigious honor will receive a $10,000 college scholarship for a student at the high school where the superintendent graduated.