920 West State Street • Trenton, New Jersey 08618-5328

    609.599.2900 / Fax: 609.599.9359 website: http://www.njasa.net


    Press Release

    Contact Anne H. Gallagher

    NJASA Director of Communications

    609-599-2900, ext. 126



    NJASA Names Three Regional Superintendents of the Year


     M. Pendergrast

     D. Aderhold  D. Trethaway

    Region I

    Mackey Pendergrast

    Region II

    Dr. David Aderhold

    Region III

    David Trethaway


    The 2020 NJASA Regional Superintendents of the Year Are Available to

    Comment on

    Education-Related Issues.


    Atlantic City, NJ Oct 23, 2019…… The New Jersey Association of School Administrators (NJASA) has selected three regional 2020 Superintendents of the Year. They are: Region I winner – Mackey Pendergrast, Chief Education Officer, Morris School District; Region II winner - Dr. David Aderhold, Chief Education Officer, West Windsor - Plainsboro Regional School District; and Region III winner – David Trethaway, Chief Education Officer, Manchester Township School District.


    The three Regional Superintendents of the Year were introduced at the Annual Fall Workshop in Atlantic City. The Workshop is co-sponsored by NJASA, the New Jersey Association of School Business Officials (NJASBO), and the New Jersey School Boards Association (NJSBA).


    NJASA Executive Director Dr. Richard G. Bozza said, "On behalf of NJASA, it is a privilege to acknowledge and congratulate New Jersey’s 2020 three regional superintendents. They are remarkable chief education officers with vision, imagination, and compassion for the students, staff and communities they serve."


    In nominating Region 1 winner Mackey Pendergrast, then Morris County Affiliate President Scott Moffitt noted, he grapples with a pre-existing desegregation order, one of only a few in the state of New Jersey. While others discuss issues surrounding equity and access, Mackey Pendergrast consistently confronts the complex issue. He seeks out innovative ways to serve his district’s diverse student population. As a veteran superintendent, is quick to share his knowledge and expertise with his colleagues throughout the county.


    Mercer County Affiliate President Dr. Tom Smith nominated Region II winner Dr. Aderhold. He stated, Dr. Aderhold has emerged as an outstanding leader not just for his district, but for Mercer County and the entire state. A passionate advocate for student wellness and equity issues, Dr. Aderhold has been a driving force of Mercer County’s “Call for Action” focused on student mental health issues and is part of NJ School Board’s Association Mental Health Task Force. Dr. Aderhold serves as the President of the Garden State Coalition of Schools and President of the New Jersey Network of Superintendents.


    David Trethaway, Region III winner was nominated by Ocean County Affiliate President William Smith. He remarked, a positive voice in education, David Trethaway has a "can do" attitude and wears a smile to work every day. He supports the expansion of academic opportunities for all students, closing achievement gaps and addressing inequities at every level. Further, this year, he opened his district to students from a neighboring district whose schools could not open at the start of the year due to construction/hazardous materials issues.


    The next step in the process for the three regional winners will be the selection of a New Jersey candidate to participate in the AASA National Superintendent of the Year Award. A committee of NJASA Past Presidents and former Regional Superintendents of the Year will select the 2020 New Jersey Superintendent of the Year. Now in its 33rd year, the National Superintendent of the Year® Program pays tribute to the talent and vision of the men and women who lead our nation's public schools. This program is sponsored by First Student, AIG Retirement Services and AASA.


    The selection qualifications for the State and National Superintendent of the Year include: meeting the needs of their students, demonstrated communication strength, a commitment to professional development and growth, and significant community involvement.  Additionally, at the state and regional levels, NJASA has an additional qualification that addresses service with the county affiliate and NJASA.


    AASA will announce the National Superintendent of the Year at its Annual Conference on Education in February 2020.




    About NJASA:
    The New Jersey Association of School Administrators is an organization of chief education officers and school administrators who lead school districts in New Jersey’s 21 counties. The Association’s mission is to ensure a superior statewide system of education. Through ongoing professional training and education, the Association shares knowledge among its members about best practices from both educational and administrative perspectives. Its goal is to move education forward by ensuring the highest quality of instruction for all New Jersey children. The Association is located at 920 West State Street, Trenton, New Jersey 08618-5328. For more information -- PH: 609.599.2900 / Fax: 609.599.9359 / website: www.njasa.net.

    Education Brief Videos

    Due to the complexity of educational topics, NJASA has released a series of videos to help parents and taxpayers better understand the issues. Each video can be accessed on a special NJASA YouTube channel at www.youtube.com/user/TheNJASA or by clicking on the YouTube icon on the NJASA website, www.njasa.net.